The premiere of Fashion Star

I love checking out new shows especially those featuring fashion.  I was especially excited for the new show Fashion Star featuring Jessica Simpson, Nicole Richie, and John Varvatos helping designers sell their clothing to H & M, Saks Fifth Avenue, and Macy’s.  I was, however, a little disappointed with the first  episode.

I thought it was a little all over the place with both the mentors and the buyers commenting and having two designers going at once.  I like Project Runway much better where they do one model for each designer and it lasts longer like a real fashion show.  It seemed disjointed in how they broke the show up.  I also wish the buyers commented more on the pieces.  I would love to be a buyer for a fashion store and want to know more information about what they’re looking for.  In terms of the pieces, three statement pieces seemed a little too much; a lot of the items were repetitive, only changing the color of the item.

HOWEVER, I have changed my mind slightly.  I like the show.  I liked seeing the clothes, but so far I haven’t jumped to any anything except for Orly’s designs.  I am disappointing though they completely changed her design this week.

It went from this:

 

to this:

 

You can’t see it in the picture, but the pockets and slit in the back of the first dress featured on the show is accented by the bright pink.  I LOVE that feature because it sets this dress apart.  I also like the silhouette in the first picture better.  Overall the first dress looks high class, evening cocktail and expensive.  The second dress looks blah blah and blah.  Saks Fifth Avenue purchased it and totally messed it up IMO.  And they are charging $295.

 

I’ll probably keep watching only because I want to see what’s next.

Leave a Reply

