Dine about Town San Francisco 2012

I have two favorite times a year; January and June.  Why?  Because Dine About Town happens in San Francisco.  I have gone three times now and would have gone more but I ran out of money.   Luckily they give you 6 months to save up.

The idea behind Dine About Town is to bring people to more expensive San Francisco restaurants without having the pay the expensive prices.  For a fixed price, $17.95 for lunch and $34.95 for dinner, you get a two or three course menu for lunch and dinner respectively.  They have every kind of food in every neighborhood of San Francisco.

Visit the website at Dine About Town.  Dine About Town is from January 15-30, 2012.  I am currently planning a birthday dinner at one of the restaurants and I will be sure to keep you all updated.

Here’s a review of the places I have tried for Dine About Town:

Isa: This place is located in the marina and has a beautiful interior.  The main area looks like a wine cavern which then leads into a beautiful indoor patio.   It’s all enclosed and there are heat lamps so you don’t have to worry about being cold in the winter.  It’s an intimate atmosphere and everything is served family style.  They bring out each plate as it is made.  The meat was juicy and tender, the veggies were firm and flavorful, and the dessert was sweet and satisfying. I loved the atmosphere, food, and service.  Highly recommended.

Grand Cafe: I went here for my birthday last year.  The interior is so-so, it looks a little like Elephant Bar or Cheesecake Factory, but the food was delicious!  The menu has changed a little in the past year and nothing that we had is still on the menu so I won’t go into much detail.  I will say though that they served the best beef bourguignon I have ever had.

Ruth Chris Steakhouse: I went here for a friend’s birthday.  We had an amazing time here!  The meat was phenomenal, the wine was great, and the service was impeccable.   I have never had my steak brought out on a hot plate before.  It never got cold.  The inside was warm and intimate and we had a somewhat private table for a small group.

Leave a Reply

